CANYON CREEK LODGE
900 Carrizo Canyon Rd
Ruidoso, NM 88355
Office: (575) 257-9131
The Carrizo Lodge, which is on the same property as Canyon Creek Lodge, has a colorful past.
Skirmishes with Indians, cattle wars, and protection of the settlers made the role of the frontier soldier crucial in New Mexico, especially in these remote Apache mountains. In 1923, just 11 years after New Mexico joined the Union as the 47th state, New Mexico Military Institue started construction of what is now the main lodge building. The site was to be used as a summertime training camp.
In 1930, the Lodge became a dude ranch, and in World War II the Army wisely used it for rest and recreation. In subsequent years, it served as a camp for baton twirlers and square dancers.
Then in 1956, Polish-born Frederic Taubes, an artist and teacher of international renown, discovered Carrizo Lodge and began teaching here that summer. Over a period of 20 years, he attracted a number of other artists to the site. As the school slowly grew, it established a fine reputation for its art workshops.
In 1980, Wm. Michael Furman and Billy C. Taylor saw the urgent need to preserve the historical old buildings on the site. So, they purchased the property and began the ambitious plans to carefully renovate the unique old lodge. Today the Carrizo Lodge is designated by the State of New Mexico as a registered cultural property and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
Canyon Creek Lodge has existed as a condominium complex and nightly condo rental accommodations since 1983. Today, the complex is a lodging favorite for generations of travelers to Ruidoso, New Mexico.